In My Dreams

I am a very active dreamer.  It is rare for me to not remember at least one (but usually many more) dreams every night.  Usually my dreams are not pleasant.  I have had, though, many dreams either about God or about deceased loved ones–and with the exception of one or two, those have all been very good.  One night, not long after my grandmother passed away, I dreamed that she was alive again and I heard her speak and I remember thinking in my dream how good it was to hear her voice.  When I woke up and scrolled through my phone as I usually do upon waking, I decided to look through the voicemail section, where I discovered for the first time an area that said Deleted Voicemails and had quite a few stored.  I clicked on it and there, about a month before my grandmother had passed away, was an old voicemail she had left me with a very sweet message.  Was my dream, in some way, a foreshadowing, a predictor, of what I was to find upon waking?  I didn’t consciously think to look at my voicemails wondering if there was one from my grandmother on there.  But did my dream subconsciously move me to check for a voicemail from her?  Does God speak to us through our dreams?

A couple of nights ago I had a dream that I didn’t immediately remember upon waking.  It wasn’t until I was lying in bed watching television shortly after waking when I saw a commercial about termites.  When I saw those termites, immediately my mind was triggered and I knew I had some sort of dream about insects.  As I lay there thinking, it all came back to me.  It was a very unpleasant dream about spiders.  I was in a room, and there was  a very large spider web that I was caught in.  It was pulling me down and the force was very strong.  I couldn’t move.  I looked up at the ceiling and saw spiders.  That’s the part I remember.  I know, in that vague way you just know, that there was more to that dream–there were more webs and spiders–but I can’t remember the rest.  I can only remember, very vividly that part of being pulled in that web.  The force was so strong and I was stuck.  I decided then to look up the meaning of spider dreams.  I read through a few websites and then decided, since none of it really made any sense to me, to put away my phone and say my prayers.

I began, as I always do, with my daily meditation in the book, “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young.  This book has a short meditation for each day of the year.  I turned to that date and the meditation was about trust.  This was very appropriate for me because trusting in God is always difficult for me.  In fact, just the night before, my husband and I had an interesting conversation about anxiety, worry, optimism and pessimism.  I am a natural worrier, anxious about many things, while my husband is the complete opposite.  When his mind thinks about the future, it naturally thinks of happy things.  When my mind wanders, it naturally thinks about all the things that can go wrong.  I know this about myself and I ask for God’s help with this very frequently.  As I was telling a friend just a few days ago, I worry most about my children.  Not for any specific reason–they are both very good young men, doing very well in school and are happy and healthy.  But as they’ve grown older and I have less and less control as a mother, I think I try to hold onto some of that control by worrying.  So, reading a meditation about trust is always helpful to me.  But, when I came to the last two lines of the meditation, I knew right then, that God was speaking directly to me.

Here is what it said, “Tomorrow is busy worrying about itself; don’t get tangled up in its worry-webs.  Trust Me one day at a time.”

Not only did it use the term worry-webs, but in that whole meditation, the only part of it that was italicized was that line, “Tomorrow is busy worrying about itself; don’t get tangled up in its worry-webs.”

God speaks to us all the time.  He knows us better than we know ourselves.  God knew exactly what I needed to hear, but not only that, He knew that I needed to hear it a new way, a way that would get my attention.  You see, had I not had that dream, I would have read that meditation and passed it along as another great reminder about trust, but then I would have been on my way.  Having that dream and then reading that line hit me like a ton of bricks.  God does not want us to worry.  He does not want us to be anxious.  He wants us to enter a fully loving, fully trusting relationship with Him where we know with certainty that He is always working for our good.

Listen in all your moments.  God our Father is the greatest Teacher and He speaks in ways that are beyond our wildest dreams!

Leave a Reply

