In a Fog

Yesterday on my early morning run it was very foggy.  I didn’t think too much about it, because things were still visible.  However, as I was nearing the end of my run, about 40 minutes later, the fog became extremely thick.  It was still dark outside and as I was running toward a big church that was being built, that is always very well lit, I noticed that I could not see the church ahead, nor any of the numerous lights that surround it.  I was astonished at how thick the fog was–I remember thinking that I was literally running in a cloud!  Absolutely nothing ahead was visible until I was right upon it.  I’m an avid runner and have run in all kinds of weather, but I have never experienced anything quite like this.  It was almost surreal.

Later that same morning as I read my devotional for the day, I was absolutely blown away at what it contained.  Here is a portion:

“As you look again at the path ahead, you notice that a peaceful fog has settled over it, obscuring your view.  You can see only a few steps in front of you, so you turn your attention more fully to Me and begin to enjoy My Presence.  The fog is a protection for you, calling you back into the present moment.  Although I inhabit all of space and time, you can communicate with Me only here and now.  Someday the fog will no longer be necessary, for you will have learned to keep your focus on Me and on the path just ahead of you.”–Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

There is absolutely no doubt that God allowed me to run in the fog that morning, where it was so thick that I could only see what was right in front of me, so that when I read this passage, I could truly understand what He was telling me.  You see, the night before this, my husband and I started making plans for our future.  Where we want to eventually move, what we need to do to get there.  Coming up with timelines and all sorts of details.  But here, in this passage, God was telling me (once again) to stop trying to plan out my future.  He obviously knows the plans He has for me and my family and the message, through the fog, was crystal clear:  “I am here.  I am now.  Be with me here.  Be with me now.  I know the plans I have for you.  Plans to give you hope and a future.”

Sometimes, being in a fog is a good thing–it forces us to be in the present–we can’t plan/worry/fret over what lies ahead, because we cannot see it in front of us. We cannot try to control the future, because we are not there.  God wants us to be right where we are.  Trusting with every step that we take that He is guiding us.  Sometimes, being in the fog is the clearest place we can be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

