No Fear

The prayer God put in my heart when this school year began was to ask Him to help me to not be afraid.  I am afraid of many things, I think we all are.  Fear of failure, fear of letting others see who you really are, fear of trying new things and exploring the unknown.  You see, God was showing me, months ago, that I was letting my fears get in the way of developing close friendships and letting others see who I really am, faults and all, and also of failing at my attempts.  So, I have prayed many, many mornings that God help me not to be afraid.  It is hard to step out on that ledge and let go–especially for someone like me, who likes to be in control and to feel safe.  So this year, I have taken a few risks and have joined in on things I might have otherwise opted out of.  It is something I have to work at–letting go of my fear and taking the plunge.  But, each time I do, I realize I am making progress, bit by bit.  Completely letting go of all of my fears is something I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to do, but I do think there are opportunities in life that are given to us that allow us to make the choice to let go, if even for just a few minutes or a few hours or a few days.  And when we do, we are making progress; we are trusting in God just a little bit more each time.  And I believe God delights in those moments and that He is cheering us on.

I went to a symposium a few days ago and met a well-known author.  He was having a book signing, so I brought him my book to get signed, as well as a book for a friend.  While he signed the books, we chatted for a minute and then I went home for the weekend.  I did not look to see what he wrote in our books until a few days later.  He wrote a nice message to my friend and in mine he simply wrote, “No Fear”.

“Do not be afraid, for I am with you; do not be alarmed, for I am your God. I give you strength, truly I help you, truly I hold you firm with my saving right hand.”–Isaiah 41:10

Leave a Reply

